Who’s afraid of the Big Bad Wolf?

c20131102_0075

 I modeled my Halloween Costume for Matt Masters.

You can see more of his work at: http://mastersphotography.tumblr.com/

Recently I was discussing with a friend whether or not you lose the magic by finding out how something is done.

He enjoys the mystery of only seeing the final product but I have always loved seeing the process that goes into making something.

(I blame Mr. Rogers for showing me how crayons were made.)

So I am showing you start to finish what goes into making this photograph. Matt Masters took the  finished photographs you’ll see here. I did the costume, hair, makeup, and editing.

Melissa Snyder and Mitch Bunting were there to help too!

I made a version of “Red” from “Once Upon a Time”.

Here are the sample images I worked from:

Snow White and Red, Once Upon a Time

Snow White and Red, Once Upon a Time

03little-red-riding-hood

Real world of Storybrooke's Ruby inspired the makeup.

Real world of Storybrooke’s Ruby inspired the makeup.

(These images are not mine.)

So. I went to Goodwill and found a tablecloth/sheet? for $3. Cause fabric is expensive and I’m a balla on a budget.

One fold and seam created the portion for the ribbon to cinch the hood.

To the left you will find Aidan's lizard that had mysteriously had it's leg ripped off and was next in line to get sewed up.

To the left you will find Aidan’s lizard that had mysteriously had it’s leg ripped off and was next in line to get sewed up.

Oh, Brother.

Oh, Brother.

Red Thread.

Red Thread.

Helping Aurora with her homework while I sew.

Helping Aurora with her homework while I sew.

Next I folded the fabric lengthwise and cut a curve to form the oversized hood.

Next I folded the fabric lengthwise and cut a curve to form the oversized hood.

Added the pins and ready to sew!

Added the pins and ready to sew!

Next I folded the fabric lengthwise and cut a curve to form the oversized hood.

Fed the ribbon through with a folded paper clip and Hood was done!

NEXT

My hair was the wrong length and color (and way too many silvers anyway) so I dyed it, added some extensions, and curled it.

BEFORE my hair was did.

BEFORE my hair was did.

Dark Dye

Dark Dye

Extensions and curled!

Extensions and curled!

So this is where the makeup tutorial would go… if YOUTUBE would finish uploading the terribly unflattering and sailor cuss worthy video I made.

Anyway, Here’s a picture of what I used for the Photoshoot makeup.

Not shown but used is Ben Nye Very Fair Foundation to bring out my extreme paleness.

Not shown but used is Ben Nye Very Fair Foundation to bring out my extreme paleness.

WARDROBE!

Outer skirt

Outer skirt

Under skirt.

Under skirt.

Blouse. Actually a garment meant to be worn over a bathing suit originally.

Blouse. Actually a garment meant to be worn over a bathing suit originally.

Here's the Vest. I ran a quick and dirty seam in the back to cinch it a bit for a better fit.

Here’s the Vest. I ran a quick and dirty seam in the back to cinch it a bit for a better fit.

So here are a few of the finished images:

Questions, thoughts, slights on character? Let's hear it!

